Every so often, a customer will find that they’re having trouble activating one of our plugins on their site immediately after purchase.
Try Deactivating A Few Possible Culprits
There are a few possible culprits that might be contributing to the issue including:
- Coming Soon Plugins: sometimes these can block the license requests
- .htaccess file: if there’s something out of the norm in terms of this config, it too can interrupt the communication between the site and our servers
- Security Plugins: Some security/protection plugins also may get in the way of the licensing event
If you have any of these, the first step would be to temporarily deactivate them, try to activate your license with our plugin, and if successful, go back and re-activate them afterwards.
Temporary Mass Plugin Deactivation
If you’re simply not sure which plugin could be causing the issue and have A LOT of plugins that might be the culprit, one option could be to temporarily deactivate all plugins using the FTP/Rename Plugins Folder technique described here.
- First, NEVER VISIT THE PLUGINS page in your WP Admin area after renaming the Plugins folder, otherwise your database will save the deactivation of those plugins as a settings and you’ll manually have to go in and activate each one by hand or via “bulk” option. So long as you don’t visit (or refresh) the plugins page, you can rename the Plugins folder back to it’s original name when you’re finished and all your plugins will come back to activated state easily.
- Second, we recommend using the FTP method described in the article, not the phpmyadmin method.
- Third, disabling all plugins like this will also disable our plugin which will prevent you from activating the license for the plugin. So to overcome this, what you can do is create a new folder named “Plugins” (after ensuring you’ve already renamed the old “Plugins” folder to something else like “Plugins.deactivate”), then coping our plugin from the old Plugins folder to the new one. Then when you go into your WP Dashboard, all plugins will be deactivated except ours. When you’re finished, you can remove the new “Plugins” directory with our plugin completely and rename the old “Plugins.deactivate” to “Plugins” and you should be back to normal
Clone Your Site, Then Hunt For the Culprit
Alternatively, in the past, we’ve had customers send us to a cloned site where we’ve been able to go in and do more thorough testing. If you would like us to take a look, please consider cloning your site so that we can fully experiment to see what’s going on.